Realistic goals

Whelp, I can’t believe I let this go so long. Taking on three part time jobs in addition to race training and keeping things up around the house might have been biting off more than I could chew. I’ve been making excuses all spring (some legitimate), but I don’t want this post to be about my shortcomings. I want to focus on moving forward and what that looks like at this point in my training regime.

Anyways,  I just wanted to check in. I’m still planning on doing the Flying Pig in less than 1 month, but I’m not anticipating any PRs. I’ve been able to work through my long runs, although my midweek runs have been pretty irregular. I don’t want to make excuses, I just haven’t been able to prioritize my training this spring as much as I would have liked.

Once again, I’m in a position where I’m going to be running a marathon without the same degree of training that I would like. With every workout I’ve been able to get the mileage done that I want, however, all of my times have been pretty slow.

My current plan – to do whatever I can to get through this marathon. If I have to walk a big part of it, so be it. If I get an embarrassingly slow time, so be it. The Flying Pig is one of my bucket-list races, I have to do it. This is going to be the first marathon where my husband is coming to support me, as well as my parents, brother, aunt and uncle, and even some of my husband’s family who have run this race before. I need this….. I need to do this.

flying pig

Leave a Reply

